Guest Reviews

A perfect hotel for a wonderful bucket list trip!

April 11, 2018

Going to the Galápagos Islands is a bucket list trip for many people. It’s a special place, hard to put into words, that you’ll never forget. Our family was so fortunate to stay at the delightful Torre Mar with owners John and Donna who by the end we would call our friends. It was perfect for our family. Unlike a boat, we had a lot of space to relax after our daily explorations. There were so many wonderful special touches. First, they had a driver they know personally & use frequently pick our family up at the airport and bring us to the hotel leaving no mix up to chance. Donna then greeted us with cooling wash cloths, cool drinks, fresh flowers, a friendly welcome and advice. Her breakfasts and packed lunches for our explorations are convenient & wonderful! The beds are comfortable, everything is clean, there is fresh water, a comfortable, cozy terrace, nothing is broken or unsatisfactory- and that list can go on. But what we could never have put a price tag on was their great personal care of our family. John would hop in our taxi with us personally and make certain we got to our destination – or they made sure they knew our taxi drivers and we were in great hands. They made sure we got from point A to point B without any problems making sure the only thing we had to worry about was wearing enough sunscreen. Their restaurant recommendations were wonderful. We also felt it was nice staying on the island of Santa Cruz and contributing to the local economy vs. a ship owned by a company not owned locally. Plus, we feel we may have avoided a lot of sea sickness especially with our older son. Additionally with John having been born & raised in Santa Cruz – knows & loves the islands like the back of his hand so he makes for the best guide. And because he is a naturalist & marine biologist, we were able to have him serve as ours on a trip one day which was a delight! He even joined us for dinner one evening which was a treat for our family. Indeed it was sad to say goodby to our new friends. They are delightful people, meticulous hoteliers & have an extensive knowledge of the Galápagos Islands. You simply could not ask for more. And every member of our family vows to return to the Torre Mar in the beautiful Galapagos Islands. We are seasoned travelers. We’re from America but have traveled extensively throughout Europe, many, many islands and Canada – you couldn’t ask for a better place to stay on your trip to these magical islands.

carsoncolson

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was very nice to meet your family and get to know you. It was our pleasure. That is the beauty of owning or staying at a small boutique property, owners and guests actually get to know each other. That is my favorite thing about what I do, I get to meet our amazing guests who become friends. Thank you again for staying with us and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Lugar de ensueño

May 7, 2018

Mi novia y Yo nos quedamos en el penthouse , es un lugar increíble y vanguardista, Donna nos recibió con toallitas frías y una bebida de bienvenida, tiene una vista privilegiada del atardecer, una sala de estar , cocina completa un sofá cama increíble y una de las mejores habitaciones en las que he tenido la oportunidad de alojarme. Está cerca de restaurantes y lugares de interés en Puerto Ayora

Two127

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Gracias por compartir su experiencia en Torre Mar Galapagos Boutique Suites. Verdaderamente apreciamos su amable evaluación.

Eight sorority sisters on the loose forty years after college!

May 5, 2018

We had three rooms at Torre Mar! My friend and I were in the penthouse and the view was lovely and a meeting place a couple of nights. Everything about the Galapagos was fantastic and we couldn’t have had a better planned trip. Donna assisted by making all of our arrangements for the tours, and our arrival from the airport, and her directions and insight about the area made our expeditions easy and seamless. We had a fantastic time using the large patio area and were spoiled by Donna’s fresh jams, juices, and teas at breakfast. John and Donovan were enjoyable and full of helpful info also. We took two different day boat tours with fantastic snorkeling, We visited other islands and found the best shopping in town. The food was great everywhere! I have traveled a good amount and this was such an enjoyable, and easy way to go. The hotel is conveniently located, clean, and has a great set-up. I thought this trip would be a once in a lifetime experience, but I think I will HAVE to go back!

Jeanne C

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Jeanne, Thank you for the kind words and we would love to HAVE you BACK.

Muy buena experiencia

May 3, 2018

El establecimiento es muy bueno, buena comida, los cuartos amplios y cómodos, esta bien equipado, taxis pasan por la puerta muy seguido, y está a solo 7 cuadras del muelle de Puerto Ayora. La ayuda brindada por el personal del establecimiento fue bueno, nos dijeron que hacer y nos recomendaron lugares, restaurantes, y tours buenos.

.Carlo C

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Gracias por las amables palabras. Estamos felices de que su familia haya disfrutado su estadía con nosotros en Torre Mar Galapagos Boutique Suites.

HOTEL AGRADABLE CON MUY BUEN SERVICIO

April 11, 2018

Pros: El servicio y el desayuno fue EXCELENTE Cons: Pues a lo mejor las suites un poquito pero en general esta excelente Es un hotel boutique que se encuentra muy bien ubicado, muy limpio y con un desayuno excelente, aparte muy buen servicio y son como suites muy amplias y comodas.-

Adriana

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Gracias, fue un placer conocerte.

Friendly stay in Puerto Ayora

April 8, 2018

The owners (John and Donna) are really helpful and accommodating. The location is great and a $1.50 cab ride to any point in the city. Things are within walking distance but I’m lazy so we took taxis. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment and it was spacious, clean, and just right. You can go to the terrace for great views. Puerto Ayora was a great place to launch from for many excursions. I would suggest using John as a guide to explore the island and book tours through. He’s a local and knows a lot about the islands and was more than willing to help. The picture below is John helping my daughter with her photography obsession.

hjoensy

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you for the positive review. It was a pleasure to host your family. We are looking forward to seeing your daughter’s photos.

Like having a friend in Santa Cruz

April 7, 2018

The owners, John and Donna, could not have been more accommodating and friendly. We showed up with very little planned and they helped fill the void. The apartment is a full 2 bedrooms with living area. Ideal size for a family of 3-5. Great views from the terrace. Any destination in town is only $1.50 away by taxi. I would also recommend taking an island tour with John if he is available. He is a local and a great guide. Submitted: Apr 7, 2018 | Stayed: April 2018

Heath

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy your family enjoyed your stay. It was great hosting you.

Great Family Stay in Puerto Ayora

April 4, 2018

This lovely apartment was booked for us through a travel agent and we were very impressed with the accommodation, service, and attention during our stay. We were a group of five (5), with a toddler, and found the space very comfortable for our four day trip. The manager included a toddler cot that was perfect for our two year old. We looked forward to the delicious breakfasts every morning. The oven baked french toast was divine! The beds are comfortable and the shower gets hot, hot, hot in less than 10 seconds. It was just what we needed after long days of exploring, diving and enjoying the islands. The management has a great working relationship with tour agencies in the area and can make great recommendations for tours, restaurants and whatever else you may need while visiting the islands. When we return to the Galapagos we will most definitely book at Torre Mar. These apartments are perfect for an active family who needs space at an affordable rate, but also wants to be close to restaurants and activities.

Candyce S

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Candyce, It was a pleasure to host you and your family and your adorable little one. We hope to see you again someday soon.

Great Time!

March 31, 2018

We really enjoyed our stay in the Galapagos!! Donna really went all out to help out with all of the details of our trip from the planning process through the end of our Stay. We really felt like we were in good hands and got the tips of staying like a local. Donovan was a little Treasuer Trove of information as well. I would definitely recommend Torre Mar.

aj0nes75

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Happy you enjoyed your stay in Galapagos. Yes, growing up in Galapagos has made Donovan a Treasurer Trove of information. Thank you for the positive review.

Paradise in paradise . . . .

March 28, 2018

We stayed here for a month the first of three times and loved every minute of it! The location is perfect – near the waterfront harbor, Main street, and near the path to Tortuga Beach. Each suite has a full kitchen which makes it so nice to be able to have some meals “at home.” The views from the terrace are awesome and you are encouraged to hang out there. The owners are quite knowledgeable and can help you pick day excursions where you can enjoy so much of what the Galapagos offers.

Bkupcha

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

We enjoyed hosting you and your family each time you returned and stayed with us at Torre Mar. Thank you for the kind review. We hope to see again! Hugs from Galapagos.