GALAPAGOS HOTEL REVIEWS

Torre Mar Galapagos Boutique Suites Hotel Reviews

Overall Rating

4.9
4.9 rating
4.9 out of 5 stars (based on 87 reviews)
Excellent94%
Very good6%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Our Reviews

A perfect hotel for a wonderful bucket list trip!

5.0 rating
April 11, 2018

Going to the Galápagos Islands is a bucket list trip for many people. It’s a special place, hard to put into words, that you’ll never forget. Our family was so fortunate to stay at the delightful Torre Mar with owners John and Donna who by the end we would call our friends. It was perfect for our family. Unlike a boat, we had a lot of space to relax after our daily explorations. There were so many wonderful special touches. First, they had a driver they know personally & use frequently pick our family up at the airport and bring us to the hotel leaving no mix up to chance. Donna then greeted us with cooling wash cloths, cool drinks, fresh flowers, a friendly welcome and advice. Her breakfasts and packed lunches for our explorations are convenient & wonderful! The beds are comfortable, everything is clean, there is fresh water, a comfortable, cozy terrace, nothing is broken or unsatisfactory- and that list can go on. But what we could never have put a price tag on was their great personal care of our family. John would hop in our taxi with us personally and make certain we got to our destination – or they made sure they knew our taxi drivers and we were in great hands. They made sure we got from point A to point B without any problems making sure the only thing we had to worry about was wearing enough sunscreen. Their restaurant recommendations were wonderful. We also felt it was nice staying on the island of Santa Cruz and contributing to the local economy vs. a ship owned by a company not owned locally. Plus, we feel we may have avoided a lot of sea sickness especially with our older son. Additionally with John having been born & raised in Santa Cruz – knows & loves the islands like the back of his hand so he makes for the best guide. And because he is a naturalist & marine biologist, we were able to have him serve as ours on a trip one day which was a delight! He even joined us for dinner one evening which was a treat for our family. Indeed it was sad to say goodby to our new friends. They are delightful people, meticulous hoteliers & have an extensive knowledge of the Galápagos Islands. You simply could not ask for more. And every member of our family vows to return to the Torre Mar in the beautiful Galapagos Islands. We are seasoned travelers. We’re from America but have traveled extensively throughout Europe, many, many islands and Canada – you couldn’t ask for a better place to stay on your trip to these magical islands.

carsoncolson

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was very nice to meet your family and get to know you. It was our pleasure. That is the beauty of owning or staying at a small boutique property, owners and guests actually get to know each other. That is my favorite thing about what I do, I get to meet our amazing guests who become friends. Thank you again for staying with us and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Absolutely Fabulous!

5.0 rating
May 29, 2020

We stayed at Torre Mar Galapagos Boutique Suites Hotel during our recent visit to the islands, Feb 2020. We could not have made a better choice. The Host would wonderful, kind, and helpful. We had a LARGE suite. If you are planning a trip in the near future you will appreciate the extra space. I would stay here again.

Susan

Best Choice in Galapagos!

5.0 rating
March 29, 2020

Our family LOVED Torre Mar! The staff was very nice. The Suites are large, clean, comfortable, and the locations is great. We are so happy we stayed at Torre Mar.

Simms Family

Lugar de ensueño

5.0 rating
May 7, 2018

Mi novia y Yo nos quedamos en el penthouse , es un lugar increíble y vanguardista, Donna nos recibió con toallitas frías y una bebida de bienvenida, tiene una vista privilegiada del atardecer, una sala de estar , cocina completa un sofá cama increíble y una de las mejores habitaciones en las que he tenido la oportunidad de alojarme.
Está cerca de restaurantes y lugares de interés en Puerto Ayora

Two127

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Gracias por compartir su experiencia en Torre Mar Galapagos Boutique Suites. Verdaderamente apreciamos su amable evaluación.

Eight sorority sisters on the loose forty years after college!

5.0 rating
May 5, 2018

We had three rooms at Torre Mar! My friend and I were in the penthouse and the view was lovely and a meeting place a couple of nights. Everything about the Galapagos was fantastic and we couldn’t have had a better planned trip. Donna assisted by making all of our arrangements for the tours, and our arrival from the airport, and her directions and insight about the area made our expeditions easy and seamless. We had a fantastic time using the large patio area and were spoiled by Donna’s fresh jams, juices, and teas at breakfast. John and Donovan were enjoyable and full of helpful info also. We took two different day boat tours with fantastic snorkeling, We visited other islands and found the best shopping in town. The food was great everywhere! I have traveled a good amount and this was such an enjoyable, and easy way to go. The hotel is conveniently located, clean, and has a great set-up. I thought this trip would be a once in a lifetime experience, but I think I will HAVE to go back!

Jeanne C

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Jeanne, Thank you for the kind words and we would love to HAVE you BACK.

A perfect hotel for a wonderful bucket list trip!

5.0 rating
April 11, 2018

Going to the Galápagos Islands is a bucket list trip for many people. It’s a special place, hard to put into words, that you’ll never forget. Our family was so fortunate to stay at the delightful Torre Mar with owners John and Donna who by the end we would call our friends. It was perfect for our family. Unlike a boat, we had a lot of space to relax after our daily explorations. There were so many wonderful special touches. First, they had a driver they know personally & use frequently pick our family up at the airport and bring us to the hotel leaving no mix up to chance. Donna then greeted us with cooling wash cloths, cool drinks, fresh flowers, a friendly welcome and advice. Her breakfasts and packed lunches for our explorations are convenient & wonderful! The beds are comfortable, everything is clean, there is fresh water, a comfortable, cozy terrace, nothing is broken or unsatisfactory- and that list can go on. But what we could never have put a price tag on was their great personal care of our family. John would hop in our taxi with us personally and make certain we got to our destination – or they made sure they knew our taxi drivers and we were in great hands. They made sure we got from point A to point B without any problems making sure the only thing we had to worry about was wearing enough sunscreen. Their restaurant recommendations were wonderful. We also felt it was nice staying on the island of Santa Cruz and contributing to the local economy vs. a ship owned by a company not owned locally. Plus, we feel we may have avoided a lot of sea sickness especially with our older son. Additionally with John having been born & raised in Santa Cruz – knows & loves the islands like the back of his hand so he makes for the best guide. And because he is a naturalist & marine biologist, we were able to have him serve as ours on a trip one day which was a delight! He even joined us for dinner one evening which was a treat for our family. Indeed it was sad to say goodby to our new friends. They are delightful people, meticulous hoteliers & have an extensive knowledge of the Galápagos Islands. You simply could not ask for more. And every member of our family vows to return to the Torre Mar in the beautiful Galapagos Islands. We are seasoned travelers. We’re from America but have traveled extensively throughout Europe, many, many islands and Canada – you couldn’t ask for a better place to stay on your trip to these magical islands.

carsoncolson

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was very nice to meet your family and get to know you. It was our pleasure. That is the beauty of owning or staying at a small boutique property, owners and guests actually get to know each other. That is my favorite thing about what I do, I get to meet our amazing guests who become friends. Thank you again for staying with us and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Absolutely Fabulous!

5.0 rating
May 29, 2020

We stayed at Torre Mar Galapagos Boutique Suites Hotel during our recent visit to the islands, Feb 2020. We could not have made a better choice. The Host would wonderful, kind, and helpful. We had a LARGE suite. If you are planning a trip in the near future you will appreciate the extra space. I would stay here again.

Susan

Best Choice in Galapagos!

5.0 rating
March 29, 2020

Our family LOVED Torre Mar! The staff was very nice. The Suites are large, clean, comfortable, and the locations is great. We are so happy we stayed at Torre Mar.

Simms Family

Lugar de ensueño

5.0 rating
May 7, 2018

Mi novia y Yo nos quedamos en el penthouse , es un lugar increíble y vanguardista, Donna nos recibió con toallitas frías y una bebida de bienvenida, tiene una vista privilegiada del atardecer, una sala de estar , cocina completa un sofá cama increíble y una de las mejores habitaciones en las que he tenido la oportunidad de alojarme.
Está cerca de restaurantes y lugares de interés en Puerto Ayora

Two127

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Gracias por compartir su experiencia en Torre Mar Galapagos Boutique Suites. Verdaderamente apreciamos su amable evaluación.

Eight sorority sisters on the loose forty years after college!

5.0 rating
May 5, 2018

We had three rooms at Torre Mar! My friend and I were in the penthouse and the view was lovely and a meeting place a couple of nights. Everything about the Galapagos was fantastic and we couldn’t have had a better planned trip. Donna assisted by making all of our arrangements for the tours, and our arrival from the airport, and her directions and insight about the area made our expeditions easy and seamless. We had a fantastic time using the large patio area and were spoiled by Donna’s fresh jams, juices, and teas at breakfast. John and Donovan were enjoyable and full of helpful info also. We took two different day boat tours with fantastic snorkeling, We visited other islands and found the best shopping in town. The food was great everywhere! I have traveled a good amount and this was such an enjoyable, and easy way to go. The hotel is conveniently located, clean, and has a great set-up. I thought this trip would be a once in a lifetime experience, but I think I will HAVE to go back!

Jeanne C

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Jeanne, Thank you for the kind words and we would love to HAVE you BACK.

Muy buena experiencia

4.0 rating
May 3, 2018

El establecimiento es muy bueno, buena comida, los cuartos amplios y cómodos, esta bien equipado, taxis pasan por la puerta muy seguido, y está a solo 7 cuadras del muelle de Puerto Ayora. La ayuda brindada por el personal del establecimiento fue bueno, nos dijeron que hacer y nos recomendaron lugares, restaurantes, y tours buenos.

.Carlo C

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Gracias por las amables palabras. Estamos felices de que su familia haya disfrutado su estadía con nosotros en Torre Mar Galapagos Boutique Suites.

HOTEL AGRADABLE CON MUY BUEN SERVICIO

5.0 rating
April 11, 2018

Pros: El servicio y el desayuno fue EXCELENTE
Cons: Pues a lo mejor las suites un poquito pero en general esta excelente
Es un hotel boutique que se encuentra muy bien ubicado, muy limpio y con un desayuno excelente, aparte muy buen servicio y son como suites muy amplias y comodas.-

Adriana

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Gracias, fue un placer conocerte.

Friendly stay in Puerto Ayora

5.0 rating
April 8, 2018

The owners (John and Donna) are really helpful and accommodating. The location is great and a $1.50 cab ride to any point in the city. Things are within walking distance but I’m lazy so we took taxis.
We stayed in the two bedroom apartment and it was spacious, clean, and just right. You can go to the terrace for great views.
Puerto Ayora was a great place to launch from for many excursions. I would suggest using John as a guide to explore the island and book tours through. He’s a local and knows a lot about the islands and was more than willing to help. The picture below is John helping my daughter with her photography obsession.

hjoensy

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you for the positive review. It was a pleasure to host your family. We are looking forward to seeing your daughter’s photos.

Like having a friend in Santa Cruz

5.0 rating
April 7, 2018

The owners, John and Donna, could not have been more accommodating and friendly. We showed up with very little planned and they helped fill the void. The apartment is a full 2 bedrooms with living area. Ideal size for a family of 3-5. Great views from the terrace. Any destination in town is only $1.50 away by taxi.
I would also recommend taking an island tour with John if he is available. He is a local and a great guide.
Submitted: Apr 7, 2018 | Stayed: April 2018

Heath

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy your family enjoyed your stay. It was great hosting you.

Great Family Stay in Puerto Ayora

5.0 rating
April 4, 2018

This lovely apartment was booked for us through a travel agent and we were very impressed with the accommodation, service, and attention during our stay. We were a group of five (5), with a toddler, and found the space very comfortable for our four day trip. The manager included a toddler cot that was perfect for our two year old. We looked forward to the delicious breakfasts every morning. The oven baked french toast was divine! The beds are comfortable and the shower gets hot, hot, hot in less than 10 seconds. It was just what we needed after long days of exploring, diving and enjoying the islands. The management has a great working relationship with tour agencies in the area and can make great recommendations for tours, restaurants and whatever else you may need while visiting the islands. When we return to the Galapagos we will most definitely book at Torre Mar. These apartments are perfect for an active family who needs space at an affordable rate, but also wants to be close to restaurants and activities.

Candyce S

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Candyce, It was a pleasure to host you and your family and your adorable little one. We hope to see you again someday soon.

Great Time!

5.0 rating
March 31, 2018

We really enjoyed our stay in the Galapagos!! Donna really went all out to help out with all of the details of our trip from the planning process through the end of our Stay. We really felt like we were in good hands and got the tips of staying like a local. Donovan was a little Treasuer Trove of information as well. I would definitely recommend Torre Mar.

aj0nes75

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Happy you enjoyed your stay in Galapagos. Yes, growing up in Galapagos has made Donovan a Treasurer Trove of information. Thank you for the positive review.

Paradise in paradise . . . .

5.0 rating
March 28, 2018

We stayed here for a month the first of three times and loved every minute of it! The location is perfect – near the waterfront harbor, Main street, and near the path to Tortuga Beach. Each suite has a full kitchen which makes it so nice to be able to have some meals “at home.” The views from the terrace are awesome and you are encouraged to hang out there. The owners are quite knowledgeable and can help you pick day excursions where you can enjoy so much of what the Galapagos offers.

Bkupcha

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

We enjoyed hosting you and your family each time you returned and stayed with us at Torre Mar. Thank you for the kind review. We hope to see again! Hugs from Galapagos.

Totally satisfied. Great place for a family

5.0 rating
March 28, 2018

Torie Mar was simple and very clean. Located in the heart of Santa Cruz. We walked everywhere although taxis are inexpensive. We had our family of 7 adults so we cooked a lot. There is a grill and a large outdoor area that is covered where we ate many of our meals. Our best vacation ever!!!!

slkwilkins

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you! It was a pleasure to host your family. I enjoyed meeting all of you.

Great place to stay while in the Galapagos.

5.0 rating
March 27, 2018

My partner and I decided to do a land based visit to the Galapagos which is cheaper than doing a cruise boat. Donna arranged various day tours for us to take, that enabled us to swim with sea lions, sea turtle and many other fish. Because of the location of Torre Mar we could walk to various places on the island and also found things around the city to be rather inexpensive. Our Suite had a full kitchen so we could keep food to make breakfast or lunch to picnic. Torre Mar has a grill so one night we grilled fish and had a relaxing evening in.

Jennifer O

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

It was wonderful to host you. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you!

Love this place!

5.0 rating
March 23, 2018

Clean rooms, courteous staff, great owners who are there onsite and very attentive! I love this place like a home away from home. Full kitchen in room. Lots of markets and fruit stands in walking distance to cook own food as well as restaurants.

jonessem

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you! It is so nice to see our guests love Torre Mar Galapagos Boutique Suites as much as we do. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Torre Mar Galapagos Boutique Suites

5.0 rating
March 23, 2018

We just spent a glorious week in the Galapagos that was made even better by staying at Torre Mar. We rented the penthouse suite and were so glad we did. The views were spectacular. Spotless, quiet, great location, very comfortable new bed, plus all the extras made this a home away from home. The owners helped us plan tours and couldn’t have been nicer. We highly recommend Torre Mar.

Peg76051

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

We are very happy to be part of your glorious Galapagos experience. Thank you for the wonderful recommendation review.

Canadian Travelers

5.0 rating
March 22, 2018

We had a great experience with this location. the proximity to the main part of town was perfect, the apartment it self and the host were super! the host also helped us organize a day tour which was very nice. Thank you.

Orly K

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

We are happy to know you had a great experience. Thank you for the super review.

A great lodging alternative in Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz Island, Galapagos

5.0 rating
March 21, 2018

Torre Mar is ideal either for short-term or long-term stays in Puerto Ayora. Among its highlights are the spacious, comfortable and well-equipped rooms and bathrooms; overal pleasant atmosphere; nice public areas; nice views of the Bay from the terrace and superior rooms; warm hospitality of the owners and staff and very fine service in every way from breakfasts to help with transfers or tours.

Luchomaldonado

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

We always appreciate comments from a seasoned travel professional. Thank you for the top noche review.

Quaint hotel on a beautiful island

5.0 rating
March 20, 2018

Located on a ridge that is a very short walk to the main stip and the cenrtal docks but far enough away to get a good nights sleep. Where it sits allows for sweeping views of the town and the harbor from the beautifully appointed deck. The hotel is an newer building with modern features (including wifi) and very comfortable beds. The owners made us feel welcome the time we walked in and provided great recommendations that ranged from places to eat to tours to take. FYI, there is a little market nearby that has great local foods for very reasonable prices. We cant say enough nice things about the place and the staff!

David W

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you David for the kind words. We truly appreciate them. Our guest’s comfort is always a priority. I am glad you found the beds comfortable and had a good night’s sleep. A trip to Galapagos is an active vacation. I agree the view from the terrace is lovely. It was a pleasure to host you. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

perfect for visit

5.0 rating
March 20, 2018

Hostess was great. We had two 2 bedroom apartments next to each other on the second floor. The roof top terrace will give you one of the best viewpoints in town.. We had a bbq on the rooftop terrace and it was perfect for hosting the new friends we had met.

colynsteeves

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay at Torre Mar. I agree, the view from the terrace is wonderful.

A gem of friendship and hospitality!

5.0 rating
March 20, 2018

Our stay here was amazing. Donna and John could not have been nicer or more accommodating. My boys loved becoming friends with their son Donovan too! The location was perfect we could walk to everything. The apartment was bright clean and cheerful with perfect beds.

Rachel K

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

It was so nice to get to know you and your family. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay. Your family has written the best entry in our on-site guest book. We have had several guests comment on it. It would be wonderful to see your family again. I hope everyone is doing well. Thank you for the kind words.

A gem in the Galapagos

5.0 rating
March 20, 2018

Torre Mar is an absolute gem in Puerto Ayora! I’ve traveled to the Galapagos twice and both times we stayed at Torre Mar — an amazing experience both times. John & Donna are great hosts and so helpful when you’re trying to plan and navigate the islands. Highly recommended if you’re doing a land-based experience in the Galapagos!!

sikesj61

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Very good to hear from you. Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you back at Torre Mar once again. We always enjoy your group.

Land based Galapagos adventure!

5.0 rating
March 20, 2018

Suddenly a week before we arrived, I realized I had not reserved any excursions. Donna, owner of Torre Mar, saved the day. She was so helpful. Plus great company up on the fantastic 4th floor deck. Our suite was perfect and Donna was always available when we needed recommendations.

kcrcummings

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you! I am very please your family enjoyed your Galapagos adventure. We are looking forward to you returning with your daughters.

The Only Place to stay on Santa Cruz!

5.0 rating
March 20, 2018

Friendliness, knowledgeable, clean, great location, great advice on things to do including taxis and arranging for flight transportation. Long walk to beach but it is totally worth it – breathtaking! Love, love, love this place and cannot wait to return!

596Kathy

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay. We know you have choice, but it is great to know we are your only choice. We look forward to you returning soon.

Great Stay!

5.0 rating
March 19, 2018

This place is just how it looks in the pictures, well kept and everything was in working order. Donna is easy to communicate with and very helpful with any other information that you might need. My only disappointment was realizing that the balcony in the pictures that you see are not the one that is connected to your apartment. Those pictures are the top deck and it’s 2 stories up. I went up everyday and enjoyed the comfortable furniture and admired the view. The apartment does have a private balcony with a small table and a perfect place to watch the sunrise. It is clean and comfortable and near the outdoor market for fruit and veggies. It is about at 10-15 walk to the pier from this place. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place as well as Donna as a host.

Melanie Hajjar

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you for taking to the time to write a review and for your positive comments. I really appreciate it. We are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay at Torre Mar Galapagos and Galapagos visit.

Amazing Hospitality

5.0 rating
March 3, 2018

Donna and John Garate have easily the most amazing accomadations in Santa Cruz. Just back from an awesome week staying at Torre Mar (Feb. 2018). The all suite hotel is accessible to everything on the island with spectacular views from the terrace. The suites are spacious with luxurious showers, lots of room to relax and unwind after a day of snorkeling or touring. I am already planning my next trip with additional members of my family! They are also both extremely knowledgeable about everything Galapagos!

Martha Ryder

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Thank you for the kind words! We would love to welcome you back with family.

Splendid views, exceptional comfort, perfect owners!!

5.0 rating
February 28, 2018

We were lucky enough to get the penthouse in Torre Mar. Everything is so clean and elegantly unfussy, perfect in heat and humidity. We ate, drank and lounged on the beautiful balcony with views across town to the bay and out to Santa Fe Island. Windows and front balcony made for views in every direction. Inside we had all we needed- space, airiness, equipment, comfort. Right from the get-go months ago, Donna was wonderfully responsive and helpful. Then she met us with damp face cloths and passionfruit juice- and introductory information! Very special! John was like a friendly neighbour, attentive and keen to make our experience special. We have stayed in many VRBOs; this was our most luxurious in a unique spot on the planet.

Bev B.

Helpful with extras

5.0 rating
February 25, 2018

Donna was a great host. Very helpful with some extra responses, quick responses, and the apartment was fantastic

Bill

Be Part of a Neighborhood in the Galapagos!

5.0 rating
February 20, 2018

My husband and I stayed in at this apartment for 5 nights in Feb 2018. It was cool to be part of a neighborhood, rather than staying at a typical hotel. John & Donna were fabulous hosts suggesting tours, food store locations, setting up taxis for us and going above the duty of being a “host” to help us with a couple unusual requests. The kitchen had everything we needed and I noticed there were nice touches you don’t always see. For example, high-quality extra towels and washcloths, good lighting in the bathroom, fresh flowers and coffee/tea in the kitchen. The main touristy part of town is walkable from Torre Mar, but if you are tired, taxis are very cheap. We did not have a lot of days here, so Santa Cruz was a good island due to all the tourist things you could get to without a boat. The weather is temperate and most of the time we had our windows open, but they have A/C splits in each bedroom (and the living room) if you have difficulty with heat. There is a bit of street noise all day, but it quiets down at night. They do not have an elevator, so if you have challenges with stairs, you will want to be on the ground floor. We enjoyed the rooftop deck with nice breezes and a lovely ocean view. Great for sundowner! I would recommend staying here if you are not doing a cruise.

Kathleen

Best Option

5.0 rating
February 16, 2018

One of the best options for staying in Puerto Ayora.

Swen

extraordinary

5.0 rating
February 10, 2018

The property Donna listed in Galapagos island is better than I expected. It’s in a central location to shopping, food and the pier for travel to other islands. The suite itself was immaculate and Donna was very helpful. She helped make our experience on Santa Cruz Island extraordinary.

Anthony

Amazing Place

5.0 rating
February 5, 2018

You were very accommodating thank you Donna … amazing place with an amazing view

Clifton

Absolutely wonderful

5.0 rating
February 3, 2018

I would recommend this apartment to everyone who wants to go to the Galapagos and stay at Santa Cruz Island. First thing, Donna was so helpful and always available to answer our questions, arrange excursions and taxis. The suite is bigger than it appears in the photos and it is nice to have air conditioning. A short walk to the pier and the main street with the restaurants. The common area was fantastic for grilling. We stayed 8 nights and took day trips and were sorry when we had to leave. The snorkeling was fantastic: tropical fish, sea turtles, sharks, sea lions, lobster, rays, etc. The combination fishing charters and snorkeling trips were our favorite, as the boat went fast to the destination. Don’t miss the frigates and blue footed boobies!

Nita T

Excellent Base for Galapagos Travel

5.0 rating
January 28, 2018

We, a family of four, stayed here for a week before our Galapagos cruise, and highly recommend it. I would have saved myself a lot of research time, if I had begun by booking this place. Donna & John are a great resource for everything Galapagos. Donna arranged a driver to pick us up at the airport, and even though we had a last minute change in our flight time, one quick email to her, & she still had a driver there for us on time. Donna & John are gracious hosts. When we arrived, we went over our cruise itinerary with them & they gave us recommendations for things to do, that were not included on our cruise. They arranged two snorkeling day trips for us that were both highlights of our trip. They also gave us recommendations of good places to eat, which were so good, we hardly used the well equipped kitchen. This place was perfect for us, we much preferred it to staying in another hotel. It is a short walk to the harbor, restaurants, beautiful Tortuga Bay etc. (or taxi’s are only $1.50 to anywhere in town). We felt totally safe & secure staying here. The suite is perfectly clean & we always had hot water right away. The shared patio on the top floor is great for a barbeque, relaxing, meeting the neighbors, & has a great view of the town. There is a laundry facility onsite, but on Donna’s recommendation, we had our laundry done for $6.50 (one weeks worth of laundry for family of 4), which was a treat. We are very happy we stayed here in addition to our cruise. This was our first time to South America and it gave us a chance to meet some warm, friendly people & experience the local culture before the cruise. It also gave us more freedom to experience some of the Galapagos Islands at our own pace, rather than the cruise’s regimented schedule. Hopefully, we will be back to see the islands we missed, and we will definitely stay here again, only longer next time.

CJ

Count Not Have Been Happier

5.0 rating
January 23, 2018

We loved the suite! The location was perfect and the apartment was beautiful. Donna could not have been more helpful. The rooftop deck is fabulous. We made dinner on the grill one night and ate up there. Donna made all the arrangements for our arrival and departure from the airport which certainly simplified things. Santa Cruz is not your typical “grab a cab at the airport” arrival. Everything you need is very close.

Robin H.

Perfect Place to Stay

5.0 rating
January 21, 2018

We stayed at the Torre Mar suites from December 28-January 3 and could not have been happier with our decision to book a suite or apartment rather than stay on a boat (or in a standard hotel). And the suite could not have been more perfect: spacious, comfortable, centrally located, fantastic view from the shared terrace, and the amazing owners/landlords Donna and John. Donna was incredibly quick to answer e-mails and to help with whatever questions we had. John was able to find us reservations on two day trips by boat when I was having no luck at all several weeks before our departure. Donna also found us a fantastic guide (Sophia) for a day trip to the Highlands to see the tortoises. We really liked being in Puerto Ayora for New Year’s Eve, although we were a bit caught off guard by everything closing down for 2-3 days, including the corner bakery! When the laundry service Donna recommended was also closed over the New Year’s weekend, we tried the one across the street, with great results. A lot of smiles and gestures (they spoke no English and we speak minimal Spanish), we got clothes washed, pressed, and ready for pick-up within 24 hours, all for $5. I would definitely stay at Torre Mar again if I were returning to Santa Cruise, and I will definitely recommend it to anyone I know who is thinking of making that trip. Thank you, Donna!

Claret

Highly Recommended

5.0 rating
January 18, 2018

Donna and her husband were such great hosts and gave us great advice throughout our stay! They helped us with our excursions to other islands and suggested good places to eat out! The suite was clean and in a great central location! I would highly recommend this apartment!

Sophia

Amazing Host

5.0 rating
January 17, 2018

Donna was an amazing host. The room was spotless and had the most spectacular view. The decor was modern and the bed was so comfortable. Donna asked what we wanted to do while we were there and then she planned each trip; snorkeling, deep sea fishing and a excursion to see the highland tortoises. She was accessible for any and all questions that we had. I would highly recommend this reservation. This was our first time using AirBnb and I was a little nervous. But thanks to Donna our vacation was a truly amazing adventure!

Tracy

Excellent hosts

5.0 rating
January 17, 2018

Very clean and comfortable suite, even if it isn’t the most modern decor. The full kitchen had a fridge, gas stove/oven, microwave, plates/mugs, utensils, a toaster – even a coffee maker. There is a TV and free Wi-fi too. Good location – we were right in the town of Puerto Ayora, off the main avenue. We walked everywhere and we never had to take a taxi to get anywhere around town. FYI taxis cost only $1.50! There is a good laundromat right across the street that only charged $1/lb. to wash and fold your clothes. There is a hair salon right next door, and bakeries/small convenience stores right up the street. The building is very secure, it has an intercom system at the front door (not that I felt it was necessary), and a digital lock on the suite door. There is a safe in the master bedroom. We stayed on the second floor, but got to enjoy access to the rooftop where you could lounge and enjoy the weather. The balcony of our apartment had views of the roofs surrounding homes – you could see the ocean from a distance. This is not a waterfront property, but you could see the water better from the rooftop if you wanted to. John and Donna made the stay very pleasant – they were very helpful with all of our questions, and arranged rides to and from the airport for us with reliable taxis. They also helped with information about excursions before and during our stay. They directed us to the better restaurants. They even arranged transportation for us when we were on our way to mainland Ecuador to get from Guayaquil to Cuenca (we were having trouble with this since our group had 5 people, and taxis aren’t allowed to have more than 4 passengers). They are excellent hosts! Overall, would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Dawn

Good location, safe, spacious and clean

5.0 rating
January 15, 2018

Your bi-lingual hosts live on site and are extremely knowledgeable about the entire area. They can arrange day trips anywhere you want to go and can suggest things you might not have thought of in advance. The apartment is safe, clean, spacious and comfortable. The separate AC units mean that one can choose the temperature. The kitchen is large and well-equipped. The social patio is ideal for relaxing with an ocean view. There is no elevator, but our driver gladly assist with luggage. The apartment is close to a good bakery and a fruit and vegetable market and just a short distance away from the ocean. We highly recommend this property.

Mary Jo B.

Best choice

5.0 rating
January 12, 2018

Due in part to lack of wifi, and in part to planning things at the last minute, we arrived on the island of Santa Cruz without a place to stay. Enter Donna and her wonderful place. Her and her husband had their two bedroom suite up and ready for us to check in in ONE HOUR. Unheard of! Once we were settled, the hotel manager showed us a map of island sites and recommendations. The hotel itself is well located, with less than a 10 minute walk to the main strip of shopping and restaurants. We stayed in the two bedroom unit, and the AC in the bedrooms was super cold! Had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, and even enough supplies to grill up some of that delicious local tuna up on the rooftop terrace. Donna as a host could not have been more accommodating. She gave us invaluable tips about the city and different trips to take. She even walked us down to some local dive shops so we could find the best scuba spot for our group! On our last night on island, we all had dinner together on the rooftop terrace, and Donna provided great food and even better conversation. I highly recommend her apartment if you want a nice, comfortable and safe place in Santa Cruz that’s close to the action but not DIRECTLY in it. Best of both worlds!

Aubrey

Great Place with Great Hosts

5.0 rating
January 10, 2018

Great place to stay with great hosts who were very accommodating. Very walkable to all the places or a short taxi anywhere for 1.50. Would highly recommend.

Jon G.

Great Hosts!! Awesome Value! Loved the Place!

5.0 rating
January 10, 2018

Donna and her husband couldn’t have been nicer! The property was conveniently located 5 Min walk to everything and nice neighbors as well! The Island is very friendly and people cooperative. Lots to see and do… I enjoyed the cab driver she hooked us up with. He was very helpful even took us to a couple of out of the way spots… A local farm that grew his own coffee and sugar as well as the fisherman that lived across the street were especially interesting friendly people. Since it was our first trip to ecuador we had some security concerns as well as food and water…. If I had it to do over Id put those concerns away and just ENJOY!!!! I felt completely safe and ate some delicious local food no issues! Its too bad it took me a couple days to adjust. If I had one recommendation it would be to be careful booking trips from Santa Cruz to some of the other far away Islands especially if seasickness is any issue. Its 46 Nautical miles ( ONE WAY ) and the boats are packed to full capacity. The ocean can be rough and at BEST its a 2 hour run! Other then that…. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!! Custom beautiful furniture, awesome hand laid Ceramic! Great bedding.. Towels….Rooftop area was awesome for relaxing!

Jeffery B.

perfect fit!

5.0 rating
January 10, 2018

It can be a little difficult to get a sense of Santa Cruz from the internet if you’ve never been to the Galapagos before, so choosing a place to stay was a bit of a guess for us. Having seen other options in person once we arrived, we felt lucky for choosing Donna’s place! The social terrace on the 4th floor was an amazing place to catch some shade/breeze and both sunrises/sunsets … and we also took advantage of the gas grill. We even met some other guests up there. The apartment was a perfect fit for our group of 4 and was accurately represented by the photos here. Maid service was great. We were just a few blocks from most places we wanted to go and all the taxi drivers knew exactly where it is (even if your Spanish isn’t spot on). Would stay here again.

Michael

Hotel confortable y cálido

4.0 rating
January 10, 2018

El hotel tiene muy buena ubicación y se puede trasladar fácilmente a las diferentes atracciones. Existen restaurantes cercanos, se pueda tomar taxis muy rápido y fácil. La zona es muy segura. Se debe tener en cuenta la época del año ya que en diciembre que fue la fecha que fuimos estaba un poco frío y no llevamos ropa adecuada. Se debe llevar repelente y bloqueador solar.

elenacardenas2018

Response from Torre Mar Galapagos

Gracias, estoy feliz de que estés cómodo. Este diciembre fue más frío de lo normal.

a breath of fresh air

5.0 rating
January 8, 2018

Donna came to our rescue after another booking fell through at the last minute. We loved the space and everything about the suite. Having been traveling in Ecuador for 2 weeks we had been exposed to most of the ups and downs in Ecuador accommodation – cheap and expensive and this was a breath of fresh air. What Donna is offering is quite unusual in its entirety! It’s a great standard and very good value – not to mention Donna’s welcome and help in arranging a wonderful tour around the island and tips on how to make the most of our time in the Galapagos. If we could go back we would!

Lorna

Awesome property, awesome owners!

5.0 rating
December 28, 2017

The location of this property is perfect – walking distance or quick taxi ride to everything in Puerto Ayora. Lots of restaurants and shops within a couple minute walk. The kitchen had everything you’d need, all appliances and TVs worked, the shower was nice with plenty of hot water, the air conditioning was great and fully cooled the apartment, the social terrace is spacious and comfortable. There are plenty of windows so the apartment has a very light and airy feel. The housekeeping service was outstanding and you are given fresh beach (and bath) towels each day. Plus the beds were super comfortable, we all liked them better than the ones we have at home! Donna is very helpful and knowledgeable. I strongly recommend you let her organize your day trips, rides to/from airport, etc. I can’t say enough good things, I highly recommend!!

rachel p.

Great Hosts

5.0 rating
December 18, 2017

In my second visits to Galápagos Islands I was fortunate to stay at Donna’s, I was pleasantly surprised with this modern one bedroom apartment with all amenities and close to everything that I could possibly expect all this was topped with having such a great hosts Donna and John .

Sohrob

Highly recommend

5.0 rating
December 1, 2017

We especially enjoyed our stay at Torre Mar for its great location and nearby amenities. We went to the Saturday market and bought fresh fruit and eggs for the week, which was really fun! The suite has a blender, So we were able to make delicious fruit smoothies. There is a good and inexpensive bakery on the corner at which we picked milk and yogurt and of course freshly baked bread every day! The laundry across the street was also very handy. And we were less than 10 minutes walk to the main dock on Charles Darwin ave, so great access to restaurants and shopping as well! The shower is great and Donna provides plenty of towels not only for bathing, but beach towels you can take out with you as well! Bedrooms in suite 2 were spacious with great closet space and drawers as well. Coffee maker and a package of coffee were provided as well as a bottled water dispenser with 1 20-liter bottle provided and additional bottles at $3 each. Donna was very helpful to us in booking excursions and offering tips on what to see and do locally as well. We highly recommend basing at Torre Mor for you Galapagos holiday!

Jamie

Feel right at home

5.0 rating
November 30, 2017

If you are looking for a comfortable, spacious, and well maintained suite with all the basic equipment to make you feel right at home, Donna’s place is perfect. I fully recommend booking this property and would book it again myself if I ever get the chance to visit the Galapagos again. Continue reading if you wish to know why. The suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a stove, fridge, microwave, kitchen utensils and a coffee pot (wonderful for brewing galapagos coffee which is delicious). I love to cook so we basically made our breakfasts and cooked most our meals thanks to the fresh fish market nearby. The rooms as well as the living room had air conditioning, however, it wasn’t hot during our stay so we kept the doors and windows open and got excellent cross ventilation. There is a flat screen tv with cable and wifi access for basic internet tasks. The bathrooms had plenty of towels which the friendly staff changed every other day. Something that we truly enjoyed about the apartment was the location. It was walking distance from most of the places that we wanted to get to and if we didn’t feel like walking we would get a taxi ride for a dollar. We felt extremely safe walking around during the day and during the evening. In the same street where the apartment is located, there is a laundromat and a bakery (do buy fresh bread there in the morning) which can come in handy. I wanted to save the best for last: when I travel I truly enjoy meeting people that are friendly, helpful, and willing to make my stay the very best. Donna and John fit the bill perfectly. They were excellent hosts who made us feel right at home. They had the courtesy of upgrading us to an apartment with an ocean view which was a huge plus during our stay. The suite was right across the terrace which has an outdoor common area equipped with a BBQ and patio furniture making this one of our favorite areas in the hotel. Donna, John, and their staff were extremely helpful and friendly during our stay helping us get around, providing information, and even helping me cook my first lobster tails to perfection. The night before we left, we had a BBQ in the terrace with Donna, John, their son, and their staff which was the perfect way to end our vacation. So I end just like I started: I fully recommend booking this suite during your stay in the Galapagos. We had a great stay there and know that you will too. Thank you John and Donna for everything!

Liza

FABULOUS PLACE!

5.0 rating
November 28, 2017

Thanks so much to Donna and John, owners of Torre Mar Suites!
We had a truly amazing stay in the Gallapagios Islands.
The suite was clean and comfortable with everything we could possibly need. The beds were very comfortable, nice sheets, tons of towels, cookware, really…everything!
The suites are in a great location, within an easy walk to the water and center of town. If you don’t feel like walking, it is super easy and cheap (about $1.50) to catch a cab back to Torre Mar.
John and Donna provide a ton of info on the area to help you organize your trip, and they will probably even help you find day tours if you need help. John is local, and a wealth of information about the area.
The owners are so warm and friendly that you will find yourself missing them once you leave!
Thanks John and Donna for making my sisters 60th birthday celebration truly amazing!

Annettte R.

Great 5 day stay in the Galapagos

5.0 rating
November 28, 2017

We stayed for 5 nights as part of our Galapagos Island vacation in early June. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by Donna and John and their hospitality was welcoming. The property was centrally located and it was easy to walk to the grocery store, tourism centers, and restaurants/cafes. The suite was well furnished, well stocked with the essential kitchen items for making meals, and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the social terrace which overlooks the water and we read books and drank wine on occasion. I would recommend staying here as an alternative to the other hotels around the area.

Michael C.

wonderful experience!

4.0 rating
November 28, 2017

We had a great stay with Donna in Puerto Ayora. It was a comfortable stay and it was withing easy walking distance to restaurants and the pier. She was there to great us and had tea and moist towels waiting for us, which were very appreciated after multiple long flights! She also gave us good tips on where to go. Only small complaint is it was a bit noisy from the street during the day with the windows open but, walking around Puerto Ayora I imagine you would have the same problem most places. Overall a wonderful experience!

Sarah

Plenty of space

5.0 rating
November 28, 2017

This was a clean and well-located hotel. Plenty of private space and a great roof terrace. Very helpful owners.

Jessica

Great place!

5.0 rating
November 25, 2017

Great place!

Matt

Great Stay

5.0 rating
November 19, 2017

We had a great stay on the top floor with the most beautiful view. The flat was clean and comfortable and equipped with the basics. We had hot water all day and a great shower pressure. No real complaints – Microwave, oven, fridge all worked fine. We used the laundry across the road – they were cheap and most efficient. We did several boat trips, hired bikes and did a lot of walking. A great stay.

Terry

Amazing

5.0 rating
November 18, 2017

Donna’s place is amazing! It’s even better than the pictures. The view from the balcony is incredible. There is also a common area balcony that has a BBQ and eating area. It is in a great location close to restaurants and the malecon where most of the tours leave. Also Donna is a great host and a very nice person (she speaks English and Spanish which was a help for us). She also arranged a taxi to and from the airport. There is a cleaning lady every day which was great as our days were jam packed exploring the beautiful islands. If we ever get a chance to come back to the Galapagos we would definitely stay with Donna. Thank you again Donna and family.

Michael

Great Host

5.0 rating
November 11, 2017

The flat was as expected, and Donna was a great host. Would stay there again.

Reno

Logement très agréable

5.0 rating
October 30, 2017

Logement très agréable, propre et spacieux, climatisé et bien situé dans le centre de Puerto Ayura. La cuisine est bien équipée avec une terrasse attenante avec barbecue et l’internet fonctionne bien. Le village est situé à 1 heure de route depuis l’aéroport (bus régulier ou taxi) et on se promène facilement à pied et en toute sécurité depuis le logement dans le centre et le port. Le marché est situé juste à côté ainsi que de nombreux commerces. Notre hôte était disponible et attentionnée. Merci pour tout Donna.

Clementine

The property was excellent

5.0 rating
October 27, 2017

The apartment was lovely, comfortable and clean. It was within walking distance of restaurants, shops and the docks. There were small convenience stores very close. Donna was very helpful in providing information both before the trip and when we arrived. We have no complaints and would certainly recommend it for people staying on the island.

Vicki B.

convenient

5.0 rating
October 17, 2017

Perfect sized apartment for a small family. Much more convenient than a standard hotel room. Great host. Arranged travel to and from the airport.

Roy

perfecto

5.0 rating
October 16, 2017

El departamento esta perfecto, todo nuevo y muy limpio. Perfectamente ubicado en la calle principal de la isla, muy cerca del mar, el puerto, restaurantes y el supermercado. Hermosa terraza con vista al mar, ideal para ver el atardecer. Donna fue muy amable y atenta con nosotros.

Carolina

centrally located

5.0 rating
October 8, 2017

The property was centrally located and very easy to find just a block off of Puerto Ayora’s main street. Donna was very welcoming, a great resource for information on the island and for connecting us with local transportation for our very short visit. The space was well equipped and comfortable. The outdoor terrace provided nice views and comfortable seating for winding down the night.

Jamie

Perfect base while exploring the Galapagos

5.0 rating
September 28, 2017

We couldn’t have stayed in a place that was ore perfect. Donna was very responsive to our queries before we arrived and although she was away while we were there, Fabiola was most helpful in getting us situated. The location was most convenient to everywhere we wanted to go and the price was most reasonable. A 5 star recommendation.

Lesley H.

Great Host!

5.0 rating
September 28, 2017

Donna was a great host! She was very quick to respond to email and helped me organize our transfers from Baltra to Torre Mar in Puerto Ayora. When we arrived, she showed us around the suite and gave us recommendations on where to go and eat. The suite on the top floor is a one bedroom, but that was fine for us since we did not plan on spending much time indoors. She left plenty of towels out in the bathroom and there was hot water, air conditioning, and WiFi. There is also a refrigerator, microwave, utensils, and pots and pans. Her property is pretty central, a 15 min walk to the Charles Darwin Research and a short taxi ride to anything else in the area ($1.50). You can also walk down the main street where there are plenty of travel agents if you want to book a cruise to any of the islands. We didn’t take any cruises but there was still plenty to do in Santa Cruz for the week we were there. Thank you Donna, we will be back!

Danielle

Great Stay!

5.0 rating
September 15, 2017

This was the perfect place to stay while we were in the Galapagos. Donna and her husband were fabulous hosts and stay right on the property, so they were available if needed. The suite was huge compared to virtually any other accommodation on Santa Cruz. She coordinated a ride to and from the airport, as well. The building is a few blocks off of Charles Darwin Ave, but the walk was really no bother. We would suggest this place to those headed to the Islands. On the Galapagos Islands things can be quite primitive. In fact, most of the hotels advertise hot and cold running water. This was no issue at this property as things were updated, clean and nice. Donna provided us with several gallons of drinking water, as well as an informational packet upon making the reservation that gave suggestions about travel to the Galapagos. The one thing to be mindful of is that there was no elevator in the building, like much of the rest of the islands. If you are disabled that may be an issue, although the driver helped get our luggage to our room. Again it was a fabulous place to stay and I have to say we were a bit apprehensive as this was our first booking of this type. We would definitely do it again and hopefully the owners of our next stay will be as conscientious and perfect as Donna and her husband.

joehune

Lovely and Clean

5.0 rating
August 12, 2017

Fabiola and Carlos were great! Unfortunately, both John and Donna were away during out stay there. But that did not stop us from having a wonderful time and experience at such an exotic place!!! Carlos was able to recommend a day trip with snorkeling and is available for hire to drive you to the highlands to see the Tortoises roaming in their natural habitat. The only thing that would made this stay over the top was having a pool to cool off after a day of excursions… Laundry services across the street was convenient, but expect to pay more. Lava wash near the pier was much cheaper and did an excellent job!!

Family of 4

Très bon séjour

5.0 rating
August 4, 2017

Très bon séjour à Torre Mar. Nous avons logé dans le studio du dernier étage. Points forts : grande terrasse avec hamac et magnifique vue sur Puerto Ayora et l’océan, studio plus grand que les photos ne laissent croire. La chambre se trouve dans une alcôve séparée, très bien situé par rapport au centre, petit marché de fruits et légumes à 50m, très propre, fleurs fraîches, essuies à volonté. Seul point faible, pour ceux qui aiment cuisiner, peu de casseroles. Wifi capricieux, mais c’est général à Santa Cruz. C’est un très bon plan comme base pour visiter l’archipel à son propre rythme.

Marinanne

Homestay feel with the privacy of your own suite

5.0 rating
July 12, 2017

The hosts were totally awesome and helped us plan activities and generally organize a trip to save the most money. The suite is close to an awesome bakery and Cuban sandwich shop. Downtown is all around the property and the main tourist strip is a 8 minute walk or 1.50 dollar taxi ride each way. Our daughter was turning 7 while we were in Galapagos so Donna and John (the owners) not only allowed us to have a party here they even helped wrangle some kids some my kids so daughter could have the same happy birthday feeling as back home. We cannot say enough about how much we appreciated staying here. These folks would make great neighbors 🙂 and we have no problem saying that these folks are what make traveling away from home so special.

Elise S.

Beautiful

5.0 rating
July 12, 2017

We recently stayed at TorreMar Galapagos and it was absolutely stunning. The service and rooms were top notch.
We will visit again.

Jeffrey Jones

Great stay for the Galapagos

5.0 rating
July 6, 2017

Very nice suite and conveniently located. Nicely decorated with John’s works. Walk a block up to the market to buy fresh fruit and vegs. All fruits and vegs grow on Galapagos are technically organics since they do not allow chemicals. Walk a couple of blocks down to have dinners at the Kioskos. Take 30 minutes walk to the most beautiful Tortuga Bay and enjoy a day at the beach. It’s a good base for exploring all other islands of the Galapagos. Wish I can stay there longer.

thuan n.

Great hosts, treated us like family

5.0 rating
June 12, 2017

John and Donna were great hosts, treated us like we family. They even hosted us with their family and friends to a bbq on the patio, complete with lots of local seafood. The suite was spacious, clean and comfortable. We spent a week there and used it as our jumping off point for adventures all over the area. No cars needed as cabs are plentiful and very cheap. I would stay there again and recommend it to any of my family or friends.

Dwayne D.

Spacious and cozy

4.0 rating
May 14, 2017

A great spacious and cozy 2 BR suite. For sure better than a regular hotel room for me. Good for families. I really like the location. It’s about 10 minutes walk from Charles Darwin Ave (the main touristy drag). Location isn’t so important because Puerto Ayora is small and taxi rides are $1.50, but being a bit off of Charles Darwin I think is better for getting a bit of the local experience. There is a ‘kiosk’ street nearby that is very active and has good food. It’s also close to local markets and stores. The internet connection is also extremely flaky. It’s a bit of an Ecuador-wide thing, but the connection here wouldn’t be reliable enough if you really needed it for work or to do voip. The hosts were also quite helpful and knowledgeable, even if our kids didn’t want to play too much 🙂 My favorite thing in the area is Las Grietas – so go there! (if you can hike over some fairly rugged rocks)

Rene

excellent stay!

5.0 rating
April 27, 2017

We had an excellent stay with Donna and John. Our suite was well equipped and described accurately. Everything we needed was within easy walking distance, and we never waited more than a couple minutes for a taxi when we wanted one. We landed without any specific plans, and they kindly arranged everything we wanted to do within hours of our arrival! They also checked in on us each day to make sure we’d had a high quality experience on the different excursions. We would certainly stay in Torre Mar again should our travels take us back to the Galapagos (fingers crossed).

Jeff

Superb

5.0 rating
April 14, 2017

I booked the penthouse for 1 week this past March. I found the suite to be spacious, modern and very clean. I especially enjoyed the view and the friendliness of the owners. A true home away from home!

jrm242

plenty of room and comfortable

5.0 rating
March 23, 2017

Donna’s listing is perfect for an extended stay in Puerto Ayora. There is plenty of room; we were four adults, and we were quite comfortable. It is well located; we were easily able to walk to Darwin Station, Tortuga Bay and the waterfront. The kitchen is well-equipped, and the bathroom is stocked with towels! We especially enjoyed watching the sunsets on the rooftop terrace. We highly recommend this apartment.

Allison

Excellent Property with perfect location

5.0 rating
February 1, 2017

Spacious and comfortable 2 bedroom in a great location. We stayed for 4 nights and would stay there again. The apartment was very clean and well maintained. Donna was very helpful with planning and a gracious host.

Mary C.

Gorgeous Views from the Top of the Town!

5.0 rating
February 1, 2017

If you are going to the Galapagos Islands, consider the town of Puerto Ayora on Santa Cruz where you will find a variety to do without breaking the bank with no need for a car. If you are just a couple, book far enough in advance to stay at Torre Mar’s penthouse like we did. What a find this 4 story building was with 360 degree views from a walk around porch with the balcony sitting area pointed toward the harbor. You’ll see a most glorious sunrise every morning from here.. This roomy and centrally located property is perfect for two, with everything you’ll need. The room is quiet and tucked away from any street noise but just 10 minutes from the harbor by foot. There are a variety of great restaurants and shops just minutes away, and when you are ready to “come home” you can even grab a taxi and tell the driver to take you to Torre Mar for only one-two dollars and they all know the location. We loved our stay here, great privacy and a warm host who also lives in the building. Ginger & John

Ginger & John

Great Place

5.0 rating
January 18, 2017

This place was great. The location is about 5 minutes from the water, and close to places to buy food and other necessities. All of the taxi drivers knew exactly where to go when we mentioned the name of the building which was extremely helpful. John was a great host, taking us around the town after we arrived which was a great start to our trip, and a good way for us to get a lay of the land. We saw John several times throughout our stay and he was always friendly, talkative, and gave us advice when needed. The other review about John being unfriendly… idk what they were talking about… he was amazing! The apartment itself was just as described, clean, comfortable, and had amazing reviews. The social terrace was a great place to relax, and big enough to hold several families if needed. The furniture out there was brand new, and the grill allowed us to have a bit of a dinner party with some fellow travelers we met on the island. All in all, great place… really made it possible to enjoy our time there.

Justin

Great!

5.0 rating
January 11, 2017

Great place for a group.

Brandon

impeccable

5.0 rating
November 23, 2016

Appartement impeccable, propre, et fonctionnel. Bien situé par rapport au centre et aux différents commerces de proximité. Terrasse magnifique pour prendre l’apéritif le soir ou dîner tranquillement. Les hôtes ont le souci que tout se passe bien et sont prêts , ainsi que leur personnel, à renseigner et rendre service.

Cluade

A perfect home base on Santa Cruz!

4.0 rating
June 25, 2016

My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed four nights at the Torre Mar in late May of 2016. Donna and John were terrific from the first contact through finding us the best way back to the Baltra airport. They even arranged for our driver to stop at some of the attractions in the highlands on our way into Puerto Ayora! We found everything to be as advertised. We loved the rooftop terrace for grilling and dining on fresh local seafood or getting to socialize with some of the other guests in the evenings. The views were fantastic! We loved the central, neighborhood location. It was a short walk to Charles Darwin Avenue, a bakery, the Saturday market, the popular outdoor “restaurant street”, and the head of the trail to Tortuga Bay! The truck-taxis are certainly abundant, but we enjoyed walking. The beds were very comfortable, and having separate remote controlled air conditioning for each bedroom was a definite plus. For two families with children, both second floor apartments would be a nice setup. We would definitely go back!

Laura M.

Great Visit in December

5.0 rating
March 6, 2014

My daughter and I spent a week at Torre Mar in December 2013. We loved our suite! It was so comfortable, clean and well maintained. We were so comfortable there and the location is great. It’s very easy to get around town by walking, although you can take a taxi for $1 a stop. Donna was extremely helpful with recommendations and I’d really get some input from her before you book any guides or trips. She and her husband John are a wealth of information! I would definitely stay at Torre Mar again and I don’t think anyone could be disappointed by making it their choice for a home away from home.

Susan1958

Wonderful Stay on Galapagos

5.0 rating
January 6, 2014

Our family of four (2 adults, 2 kids) had a great stay on the 4th floor apartment at Torre Mar in early November 2013. This suite was beautiful – spotlessly clean, and very well-maintained! We had a lot of space too. The master bedroom has a king-sized bed, and the second bedroom has two doubles, so you comfortably sleep at least 6 people here! Donna and John were great hosts – they live in the building, so they are available if you need help. They also provide a great information package before you arrive, which helps a lot with planning your trip. John is a naturalist guide, so he knows what the best things to see on the island are! There are many things to do on Santa Cruz Island. Visiting Santa Cruz is a great way to see Galapagos without the expense of a cruise. Or, you can do as we did, and book a short cruise followed by a stay at Torre Mar. I highly recommend this property. Our family has been traveling for nearly 6 months, and this was one of the nicest rentals we’ve stayed in. Thanks Donna, John and Donovan!

Kirsten B.

Home away from home

5.0 rating
February 28, 2012

My husband, 26 yr old son and I stayed at Torre Mar December 4-10, 2011. Our 2 bedroom suite was spacious and clean. Everything was very modern and deluxe. The master bed was king sized, unusual in Latin America, and a real treat for tall people. When we reserved the apartment, Donna, the owner, sent us 16 pages chock full of everything you need to know for a successful vacation in the Galapagos. Travel documents, insurance, airport transfers, packing list, restaurants, spas, laundry, descriptions of activities, hikes, beaches, other islands, etc. Donna was very helpful in orienting us in Puerto Ayora. We would highly recommend Torre Mar!

Barbara

Kansas The Sunflower State

5.0 rating
December 5, 2011

We stayed at Torre Mar mid October 2011 in the Penthouse unit. It was a very nice unit and clean. The owners were very attentive, kind and informative. You couldn’t ask for anything more than Torre Mar had to offer. Do yourself a favor and definitely entertain staying here. The unit has a kitchenette, but the options for restaurants in Puerto Ayora are wonderful. Or if you prefer to eat in, there are plenty of small shops nearby for groceries.

W. Willis

Home away from home

5.0 rating
January 28, 2011

My husband, 26 yr old son and I stayed at Torre Mar December 4-10, 2011. Our 2 bedroom suite was spacious and clean. Everything was very modern and deluxe. The master bed was king sized, unusual in Latin America, and a real treat for tall people. When we reserved the suite, Donna, the owner, sent us 16 pages chock full of everything you need to know for a successful vacation in the Galapagos. Travel documents, insurance, airport transfers, packing list, restaurants, spas, laundry, descriptions of activities, hikes, beaches, other islands, etc. Donna was very helpful in orienting us in Puerto Ayora. We would highly recommend Torre Mar!

Barbara

Share your experience at Torre Mar Galapagos Boutique Suites Hotel and submit your hotel review.